The Fluff Genre

As I am on maternity leave now from work, I have a whole lot of time on my hands to plan for the baby and the birth as well as take very long naps because I AM EXHAUSTED ALL THE TIME.

When I am not doing these things, I honestly wish I could work on my writing but everything I have to write requires me to get my mind into a mindset I don’t want to be in. I want to be in a relatively drama-free, angst-free, stress-free environment and keep things positive and fluffy. Same goes for my reading preferences right now. I just want to read some fluff. Happy sunshine and rainbows, please!

To be clear, “Fluff Genre” is not a real thing but IT SHOULD BE. It would make finding these books so much easier.

Thankfully, the day after I went on maternity leave, I stumbled upon a book in my library recommendations that looked like something cute I could get into.

7826101

From the cover it looks medieval and interesting. Going into it I knew it was a sleeping beauty retelling, which I don’t mind since some predictability is fine…it adds to that drama-free, angst-free, stress-free environment I was talking about before.

What I didn’t realize going into it was that it was from the Christian Fiction genre. Which I was honestly surprised about since I am used to Christian Fiction being heavy into symbolism or preaching at me, and this book did neither. It was just a good, clean, swoon-worthy, romance with no over-the-top scandals, intrigues, or religious content. Fluff.

What I also liked was that it seemed well researched for its target time period. Nothing seemed out of place or inappropriate in terms of what I would expect to find in a story about a medieval town with medieval characters. (It is a pet-peeve of mine to read a historical fiction that has a wildly misplaced plot-point thrown in it, like a random Chinese Kung-Fu master practicing his moves in an English forest during the Regency Era…yeah…there was a PUBLISHED book with THAT in it.)

Needless to say, I devoured more of this Fluff Genre and within a matter of a few weeks I am already on my eighth book from this author’s repertoire.

If you have any other recommendations for books that could be considered “fluff” PLEASE COMMENT! I would love to read more of this cute stuff.

tbirdicon2

 

4 thoughts on “The Fluff Genre

      • Johanna Quinn says:

        Oh that’s where I shop, too!! Haha I was hoping there was an amazing book store I was missing out on here in Seoul! I like to be among the books before I buy them! Thank you for replying! 🙂 And the Kyobo English books don’t feel like real books to me!

        Like

      • Tori Bird says:

        I agree about Kyobo. Although they are a huge store, it doesn’t feel quite the same as a big and quiet bookstore we are used to, and they don’t have much in the way of English books. Bandi and Luni is a nice bookstore but again, their English books are lacking.

        Like

Leave a comment